Google announced the beta launch of their new social network called Google Plus (or Google+.)

Google needs to put time, effort and listen to its users on this social network.  We all know what happened to Google Wave.

However in their blog post about the the launch, they don’t even use the term “social network” thus trying to distance itself from Facebook.

Google Plus

Let’s take a look at Google +.

There are 5 parts to their social network.

Circles – This is where you can share certain things with certain people.  According to Google – “Circles makes it easy to put your friends from Saturday night in one circle, your parents in another, and your boss in a circle by himself – just like real life.”

Hangouts – This is comparable to being tagged in Facebook Places.

Sparks – This is basically a news feed that you can create with your interests.  So even if you have no friends, you’ll still be able to see something that interests you.

Huddle – Now this sound pretty cool. It looks like a group text or chat.  I think this is left over from the abandoned Google Wave project.

Again, this could be another Google failure unless they listen to the masses. Let’s hope they don’t abandon this one.

In order to get a Google Plus account you have to get an invite. If you have a Google account, you can sign up to be on a waiting list.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.